Press "Enter" to skip to content

About Us

The Campanil is a student-run, multi-platform news organization at Mills College, a private liberal arts institution located in Oakland, California. The print newspaper is funded through a combination of advertising revenue and a portion of the undergraduate student activities fee. Established in 1917, the newspaper underwent several name changes throughout the years, including The Weekly and The Stream. When the Campanil confirmed its current title in 2007, it committed itself to experiment with new methods of storytelling.

Today we continue to do so. Our current website, for example, was launched in September 2009, and we have made vast forays into multimedia and communicating via social networks. Above all, we strive to engage and interact with Mills students present and past, faculty and staff as well as the local community on issues of importance.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Campanil is to serve the Mills College community through the practice of ethical and responsible journalism. Knowledge and progress in all areas of life is accomplished through the sharing of correct information. The Campanil strives to accomplish this standard by reporting and writing the truth in a way that enlightens and informs our entire community while providing information in a manner that seeks participation through thoughtful response, dialogue and action. Our clear objective is to serve the student body and we realize the importance and impact of this endeavor. We do not make news but cover the events that stimulate and change our community and college life. 

Our Staff

Angel Fabre

Editor-in-Chief

eic@thecampanil.com

Felicia Payomo

Managing Editor

me@thecampanil.com

Jessica Gillespie

Chief News Editor

jgillespie@thecampanil.com

Xing Gilbert

Assistant News Editor

xgilbert@thecampanil.com

Tyler Mendoza

Arts and Entertainment Editor

tylermendoza@thecampanil.com

Rosina Ghebreyesus

Assistant Arts and Entertainment Editor

rosinag@thecampanil.com

Grayson McNally

Health and Wellness Editor

gmcnally@thecampanil.com

Alyana Willis

Assistant Health and Wellness Editor

awillis@thecampanil.com

Shirley Acuña

Opinions Editor

opinions@thecampanil.com

Jo Moses

Assistant Opinions Editor

jmoses@thecampanil.com

Dana Culpepper

Copy Chief

copy@thecampanil.com

Lila Goehring

Assistant Copy Editor

goehring@thecampanil.com

Kennia Hernandez

Assistant Copy Editor

khernandez@thecampanil.com

Pat Dalao

Assistant Copy Editor

pdalao@thecampanil.com

Imani Gibbs

Online Editor

igibbs@thecampanil.com

Leilani Doneux

Assistant Online Editor

doneux@thecampanil.com

Joanna Flamenco

Design Editor

jflamenco@thecampanil.com

Angelica Navarro

Assistant Design Editor

anavarro@thecampanil.com

Ari Fitzgibbon

Staff Writer

afitzgibbon@thecampanil.com

Stephanie Aldaz

Staff Writer

stephaniealdaz@thecampanil.com

Cecelia Garcia

Photographer

cgarcia@thecampanil.com

Keli Dailey

The Campanil’s faculty advisor

kedailey@mills.edu

Recent Awards

• Best Special Section/Issue, second place, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Use of Social Media (among all colleges), second place, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Arts and Entertainment Story, honorable mention, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Editorial, honorable mention, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Headline Portfolio, second place, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Feature Story, honorable mention, 2016 California College Media Association Awards
• Publication Small School, fourth place, 2016 Associated Collegiate Press Best in Show Awards
• Best Special Section/Issue, second place, 2015 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Arts & Entertainment Story, third place, 2015 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Non-Breaking News Story, third place, 2015 California College Media Association Awards
• Best Feature Story, honorable mention, 2015 California College Media Association Awards
• Publication Small School, sixth place, 2015 Associated Collegiate Press Best in Show Awards
• Best Arts & Entertainment Column/Criticism, third place, 2014 California College Media Association Awards
• Publication Website Small School, second place, 2013 Associated Collegiate Press Best in Show Awards
• Four awards at the 2012 CCMAs: Best Personal Opinion Column, Best Arts & Entertainment Story, Best Arts & Entertainment Column/Criticism and Best Features-Page Design
Seven awards in the 2011 California College Media Association Awards: Best News Page Design, Best Sports Column, Best New Series, Best Arts & Entertainment Story, Best Feature Story, Best News Photo, and Best Features Page Design
• Best Small Schools Website, sixth place, 2010 Associated Collegiate Press Best in Show Awards
• General Website Excellence, second place, 2009 California College Media Association Awards